Sheridan Rd. Conditions
Lake Shore News (Wilmette, Illinois), 23 Jan 1913, p. 1

Media Type:
Item Type:
article is continued on p. 5
Edwin L. Lobdell, President of the Sheridan Road Improvement Association, announced future plans for conversion of Sheridan Rd. to a highway connecting Chicago and Milwaukee. The association's next step is to repair the road between Devon Ave. in Chicago and the Evanston city limits. A poll of property owners on Sheridan Rd. shows they favor the transfer of Sheridan Rd. from the North Shore Park District, which now controls the road, to the Lincoln Park commissioners. The road work had been done under the direction of Chairman Walter Mills of the Chicago Local Committee. Lobdell says the road will have to be transferred to Chicago and later the city will transfer it to the Lincoln Park Board. Mayor Harrison and the Lincoln Park Commmissioners approve of the plans. A petition will be presented to the North Shore Park District. The statue which provides for the transfer provides taxation for maintenance of the road and other plans. The Officers and Directors of the Association are: President Edwin L. Lobdell, Vice President John H. Hardin, Treasurer J. H. Sobeidenheim, Secretary C. J. Norris, Directors: Charles T. Boynton, Clyde M. Carr, Ira M. Bobs, Frederick M. Cushing, Percy B. Eckhart, Oscar G. Foreman, William A. Gardner, John H. Hardin, Charles L. Hutchinson, Edwin L. Lobdell, Harold F. McCormick, Frank R. McMullin, George P. Merrick, Augustus S. Peabody, William H. Rehm, Harrison B. Riley, F. J. Scheidenhelm, John W. Scott, Byron L. Smith, Charles H. Thorne.
Executive Committee-Charles H. Thorne, chairman; Charles T. Boynton, John H. Hardin, Edwin L. Lobdell, Harrison B. Riley.
Finance-Byron L. Smith, chairman; Harold F. McCormick, Oscar G. Foreman, William A. Gardner, F. J. Scheidenhelm.
Temporary Repairs-George E. Scott, chairman; Arthur Meeker, Edward S. Moore, Theodore W. Robinson, Joseph B. Terbell.
Publicity-John W. Scott, chairman; Frank Hibbard, Frank H. Armstrong, Morris W. Kozminski, James Simpson.
Membership-Wm. H. Rehm, chairman; Clyde M. Carr, Ira M. Cobe, Frank R. McMullin, William A. Gardner.
Legislation and Legal Procedure-Bernard A. Eckhart, chairman; Harrison B. Riley, Rudolph Matz.
Local Committees-Chicago, Walter Mills, chairman; Evanston, George P. Merrick, chairman; Winnetka, F. J. Scheidenhelm, chairman; Kenilworth, Percy B. Eckhart, chairman; Winnetka, Charles H. Thorne, chairman Glencoe, John H. Hardin, chairman; Highland Park, F. W. Cushing, chairman; Lake Forest, Byron L. Smith, chairman, and James O. Heyworth, vice-chairman.
Date of Publication:
23 Jan 1913
Language of Item:
Geographic Coverage:
  • Illinois, United States
    Latitude: 42.07225 Longitude: -87.72284
Copyright Statement:
Copyright status unknown. Responsibility for determining the copyright status and any use rests exclusively with the user.
Wilmette Public Library
WWW address
Agency street/mail address

1242 Wilmette Avenue
Wilmette, IL
U.S.A. Phone: 847-256-6930

Powered by / Alimenté par VITA Toolkit

My favourites lets you save items you like, tag them and group them into collections for your own personal use. Viewing "My favourites" will open in a new tab. Login here or start a My favourites account.

Sheridan Rd. Conditions