New Trier High School: Dance performance
Wilmette Life (Wilmette, Illinois), 5 May 2011, p. 10, 14

Media Type:
Item Type:
Brief notices of activities at the school.
Date of Publication:
5 May 2011
Corporate Name(s):
New Trier Township High School
Language of Item:
Geographic Coverage:
  • Illinois, United States
    Latitude: 42.07225 Longitude: -87.72284
Copyright Statement:
Protected by copyright: Uses other than research or private study require the permission of the rightsholder(s). Responsibility for obtaining permissions and for any use rests exclusively with the user.
Copyright Holder:
Sun-Times Media
Wilmette Public Library
WWW address
Agency street/mail address

1242 Wilmette Avenue
Wilmette, IL
U.S.A. Phone: 847-256-6930

Full Text

Community members are invited to see the work of New Trier dancers during Dance Theatre New Trier at 7:30 p.m. today (May 5) and tomorrow (May 6) in the Gaffney Auditorium on the Winnetka Campus. The show features nine original works, including a Menz Dance piece, seven other student-choreographed pieces, and an original work from professional choreographer and dancer Rachel Damon, artistic director of synapse arts collective.

Tickets are $7 and are available at the door.

The student dancers and choreographers are Abby Albrecht, Stephanie Baldwin, Nique Beltrano, Claire Boyle, Maude Brown, Lindsey Buerger, Paige Buerger, Eva Cahnman, Leah Callahan, Michelle Cannon, Donna Carnow, Naomi Cowans, Joey DeFelice, Natalie Dibo, Joanna Dutra, Juliana Earvolino, Kirby Engelman, Rory Gilchrist, Caroline Gladman, Tabitha Hill, Briana Huff, Pam Johnson, Ashley Lee, Kendall Johnston-Legg, Olivia Kafkis, Ben Kim, Christian Kim , Elizabeth Kinsella, Allie Koplan, Patricia Kostouros, Selena Kowalski, Konrad Kordylasinski, Michael Lefevre, Claire Lindstrom, Ryan Lucas, Timothy Mlynarski, Bridge Morse-Karzan, Katrina Mutuc, Rachel Nesnevich, Claire Olvany, Kristine Ortega, Abby Ortenberg, Isabella Persico, Katie Pomykalski, Annie Qamaruddin, Teresa Quinones-Clauson, Victoria Rachmaninoff, Elena Rand, Alanna Rieser, Olivia Robbins, Gabby Rodriguez, Catherine Ryan, Nick Saboo, Samantha Sacks, Samantha Salerno, Hannah Samberg, Becky Schwartz, Carly Schwartz, Alex Shenkman, Jeremy Skiba, Serge Sievertson, Hanna Simonson, Eleanor Spevok, Julia Sward, Alison Swimmer, Ali Tarr, Madli Vahtra, Emily Van Dam, Ian Vlahakis, Rebecca West, Lauren White, Layne Whitted, Elizabeth Wilson and Jonathon Wren.

The co-artistic directors are New Trier faculty members Carol Bobrow and Laura Deutsch.

Haiti Walk

New Trier invites members of the community to get involved with the school’s upcoming efforts to help the people of Petit-Goave, Haiti, who are still in the long process of rebuilding their community following last year’s devastating earthquake. Freshmen students will take part in a Haiti Walk from 7:15 a.m. to 7:45 a.m. May 19 beginning in the South Courtyard of the Northfield Campus. Community members are invited to sponsor the students for this fundraising walk. Any donation will be accepted, and live music and a pancake breakfast will be provided immediately following the walk. That same day, during the Northfield Campus’ Springfest during the lunch periods, Haiti Project T-shirts will be on sale for $15, and student booths will raise money for the Haiti Project.

New Trier also is collecting supplies for the families of Petit-Goave, including school supplies (notebooks, paper, pencils, backpacks), clothing (new or lightly used shirts, pants, shorts, shoes and sandals), and toiletries (toothbrushes, toothpaste, deodorant, soap and shampoo). Donations will be accepted through May 23 and can be delivered to the Student Activities Office at the Northfield Campus, in Room C103.

New Trier has already raised more than $100,000 in its efforts to help rebuild St. Joseph School in Petit-Goave, which was destroyed in the earthquake. New Trier has a special connection to the school, which was kept running for years through the support of two of New Trier’s security staff members, Maurice Bonhomme and Jean Cayemitte, who grew up in the community. New Trier staff members traveled to Petit-Goave last summer to run a day camp for the former students at St. Joseph School, and construction on the new school is scheduled to begin this summer. Funds are still needed for this effort and to help with other rebuilding efforts in Petit-Goave.

For more information on New Trier’s Haiti Project, or to donate, visit or contact Carolyn Muir, Haiti service learning committee coordinator, at (847) 784-7574 or

Science Olympiad awards

The Science Olympiad team earned a record-setting 10th consecutive state title April 16 in Champaign. The 2011 team broke all previous New Trier records by having the lowest cumulative score of 70 points. Varsity team members won seven first place medals in forensics, remote sensing, optics, protein modeling, helicopters, technical problem solving, and mission possible. New Trier also won seven second place medals in: astronomy, chemistry lab, towers, fossils, sounds of music, wind power, and mousetrap vehicle, as well as two third place medals in ecology and disease detectives. The team won two fourth place medals in anatomy and physiology and microbe mission, and one fifth place medal in experimental design.

The junior varsity team participated in five events, geocaching, electric wright stuff, SumoBots, model this and tow-line glider. New Trier won first place in tow-line glider and model this, and second place in electric wright stuff. Forty-six teams total competed at the 2011 state meet.

The varsity team now advances on to the national competition, which will be held at University of Wisconsin on May 19-21.

The varsity team members are seniors Arsalan Aslam, Max Kanter, Andrew Miller, Danny Park and Junjie Shangguan; juniors Emily Berez, Adam Cohen, Chloe Director, Ben Feis, Eleanor Hyun, Elaine Shen, Jeff SubbaRao, and Christina Tsai; and sophomores Jung Oh and Arthur Tsang

The junior varsity competitors were Sadaf Bhai, Audrey Gomez, Jiham Lee, Nikita Saladi, Yalda Shadravan, Aida Shadravan, Jonathan Wang, Shirlene Wang, Miranda Wei, Tyra Yam and Oliver Zhu.

New Trier’s coaches are Jan Leonhardt, Tony Harper, Bruce Credo, and David Jabon.

The freshman team won 14th place overall among the 46 schools at the state meet, most of which were comprised of juniors and seniors. New Trier freshmen won first place in mousetrap vehicle, second place in ornithology and third place in astronomy. For the trial events, they won second place in tow-line glider. The Northfield coaches are Nicole Hoefling, Tom Anderson, Shayda Crosby and Phil Steptoe.

Powered by / Alimenté par VITA Toolkit

My favourites lets you save items you like, tag them and group them into collections for your own personal use. Viewing "My favourites" will open in a new tab. Login here or start a My favourites account.

New Trier High School: Dance performance