Ken-Win, New Trier combine for three titles
Wilmette Life (Wilmette, Illinois), 31 Jul 2008, p. 115

Media Type:
Item Type:
Six local teams entered Sunday's championship round of the North Shore Baseball League tournament in Lincolnshire's North Park. Two titles were won for Kenilworth/Winnetka, and the local squads came away with a split decision (3-3) in the six championships.

The Kenilworth/Winnetka Bulldogs defeated Northbrook 10-5 in the championship game. Players mentioned include Maz Thoma, Chris McCarren, Andrew Gjertsen, David Richman, Matt Roeser, Mikey Yablong, Alex Underwood and Mark Snyder.

Drew Fischer pitched two scoreless innings of relief.
Also contributing to the Bulldogs' league and tournament championships were Ricky Samuelson, Oliver Katz and Michael Boehm. The team is coached by David Wartik, Charlie Muir and Jeremy Cohen.


Kenilworth/Winnetka claimed its second championship by defeating fifth seed Deerfield 6-5 in the title game.


Sam Kurgan set the tone for second-seeded New Trier Blue by leading off the championship game against Northbrook with a home run to center field. Also mentioned were Austin Zimmerman, Bryan Porter,
Andrew Hrabe and Chris Hall, Connor Gray, Campbell Lipe, Willy Goss, Tim Hebard, Matt Hebard, Joey Pesavento and Connor Boehm. The team was coached by Matt LaFontaine, Tom Smith and Dan Kehoe.


Sixth-seeded Wilmette Green came off an 8-5-1 regular season and managed to battle its way to the title game of the North Shore Baseball League tournament only to lose 8-5 to top-seeded Deerfield.

The Green roster included Dutcher Boyd, Sean Douaire, Matthew Gordon, Michael Graham, Charlie Hexamer, Matt Kann, Eric Nicholas, Thomas Nugent, Connor Prassas, Danny Sullivan, Henry Trevor and Max Williams. The coaches were John Hexamer, Tim Nugent, Doug Boyd and John Kann.


Glencoe opened the tournament with a 14-3 defeated Lincolnshire and then edged fourth-seeded Prospect Heights 6-4 in the quarterfinals.

The Glencoe contingent included Ben Basson, Andy Shade, Max Rosenthal, Nathan Friedman, Paul Brandfonbrener, Andrew Conlon, Brandon Simberg, Francis Fay, Jacob Lowell, Ben Foster and David Tigerman. The team was coached by John Pranian, Zach Perlmutter and Mike Chudacoff.


One of the biggest surprises in the tournament was provided by Wilmette Blue, which drew the eighth seed after an 8-6 season but advanced to the title game thanks to a 5-3 upset of league champion Lincolnshire in the semifinals. However, second-seeded Morton Grove posted a 13-7 victory.
Mentioned were Jacob Manhoff, Will Jamieson, Ben Berenstein, Brendan Gridley, Stephan Bazianos, Jordan Xidas, Jack Saltzman, Henry Lindstrom and Patrick Schafer. Henry Belton, Samuel Gagerman, Michael Moran and Zack Valavanis rounded out the roster coached by Stan Xidas and Brian Saltzman.

Date of Publication:
31 Jul 2008
Local identifier:
Language of Item:
Copyright Statement:
Protected by copyright: Uses other than research or private study require the permission of the rightsholder(s). Responsibility for obtaining permissions and for any use rests exclusively with the user.
Wilmette Public Library
WWW address
Agency street/mail address

1242 Wilmette Avenue
Wilmette, IL
U.S.A. Phone: 847-256-6930

Powered by / Alimenté par VITA Toolkit

My favourites lets you save items you like, tag them and group them into collections for your own personal use. Viewing "My favourites" will open in a new tab. Login here or start a My favourites account.

Ken-Win, New Trier combine for three titles